Belen Jesuit Football History

(7-4) Playoff team

#3 Chris Henry
Archbishop CurleyW286
Cardinal NewmanL721
Monsignor PaceL720
Mater AcademyW3315
Key WestW210
Calvary ChristianW3513
Glades Central - playoffsL741



The 2007-2008 Belen Jesuit football team made the playoffs once again and had another winning season. Michael Rios broke the record for most yards receiving in a season including playoff games with 652. Chris Henry had the highest completion percentage by a Belen quarterback with 62 percent. Javier Sosa rushed 144 times for 1042 yards and 11 touchdowns. The team had memorable victories versus Edison and Key West. Unfortunately turnovers cost the team in their losses. Iñigo Abaroa - K, Diego Fernandez-Soto - LB, Javier Sosa - RB, and Anthony Diblasi -DB made the All-Dade team. Anthony Diblasi and Diego Fernandez-Soto went on to play football in the Ivy League at Dartmouth. Nick Herrera and Chris Henry went on to play at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Michael Rios went on to play at Marist College and Iñigo Abaroa went on to kick at Temple University. Arnie Izquierdo later went on to play at John Carroll.

Amado Nieto
Alex Duarte
J.V. De Oña
Nick Herrera
Rudy Villanueva
Javi Sosa

# 4 Michael Rios
Erick Echeverria

2007 - 2008 Belen Jesuit Wolverines Varsity Football Team


2007-2008 game by game summaries


2007-2008 Newspaper Articles

 # 4 Michael Rios


Congratulations to Anthony Diblasi, Diego Fernandez-Soto, and Nick Herrera who on 2/6/08 signed letters of commitment to play football at Dartmouth and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. To view video, click here.

Contact Athletics
Mr. Carlos Barquin
Athletic Director
Phone: 786.621.4027
Contact Athletics
Mr. Victor Arrieta
Assistant to the Athletic Director
Phone: 786.621.4022
Contact Athletics
Ms. Maria Consuegra
Athletic Department Secretary
Phone: 786.621.4183
© Copyright 2009 Belen Jesuit Preparatory School
500 SW 127th Avenue, Miami, FL 33184 305.223.8600 Fax: 305.227.2565
Privacy Policy