170 Students Awarded with Academic Honors

Teresa Martinez | Director of Communications
The College Board, which administers the PSAT and SAT among its activities, recognizes academic excellence through its National Recognition Programs. The Belen Jesuit administration is proud to announce that 170 students have been named Scholars in at least one of the recognition programs: National African American Recognition Program, National Indigenous Recognition Program, and the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

“We are so proud and thrilled that our students have earned this recognition for their achievements in the classroom and on the College Board assessment,” said Principal José E. Roca ‘84. They exemplify the core values instilled in our young men on a daily basis. 

The following students are College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholars: Alejandro Vazquez, Lucas Richard, Manuel Estrada, Michael Martelly, and Santiago Richard.

Christian Ramos was named a College Board National Indigenous Recognition Program Scholar.

The following students are College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars:
Adrian Carmona
Adrian Fernandez
Adrian Hernandez
Adrian Navarro
Adrian Paucar
Aidan Girado
Aidan Suarez
Alec Schneider
Alejandro Acosta
Alejandro Herrera
Alejandro Minoso
Alejandro Sanchez
Alejandro Vazquez
Alejandro Vela
Alejandro Villarreal
Alessandro Di Marzo
Alexander Baldo
Alexander Gonzalez
Alexander Gonzalez
Alexander Kuhn
Alexander Nunez
Alfredo Diaz
Alfredo Hernandez
Alfredo Huete
Andres Bodero
Andres Caballero
Andres De Solminihac
Andres Luna
Andres Mederos
Andres Morasso
Andres Ramos
Andres Torrente
Andrew Gonzalez
Andrew Lamela
Angel Bueres
Anthony Lamelas
Anthony Pando
Anthony Perez
Antonio Ponte
Benjamin Bermudez
Carlos Caban
Carlos Morales
Carlos Veccio
Cesar Cantos
Christian Blasco
Christian Fox
Christian Ramos
Christopher DiFilippi
Daniel Acebal
Daniel Cuesta
Daniel Diaz-Arias
Daniel Esponda
Daniel Fasanella
Daniel Torres
David Gonzalez
David Guon
David Swisstack
Diego Diaz
Diego Liu
Diego Suarez
Dylan Cosgrove
Eduardo Alvarez
Eduardo Arevalo
Enrique Mackinlay
Enrique Perezalonso
Ernesto Cabrera
Ethan Concepcion
Felipe Pardo De Zela
Felipe Rivera
Francisco Prio
Francisco Rojo
Frank Aira
Gabriel Bustamante
Gabriel Marrero
Gabriel Otero
Gabriel Segurola
Gabriel Suarez
Gabriel Velasquez-Neira
George Balepogi
Gil Izquierdo
Hely Santeliz
Ignacio Bru
Ignacio Felix-Padilla
Ignacio Lizama
Jake Garcia-Rivera
Jeronimo Pedevilla
John Anguita
John Bohatch
John Castellanos
John Fanjul
John Goble
John Paul Chiappone
Jonathan Larios
Jonathan Lopez
Jorge Jimenez
Jose Costa
Jose Morales
Joseph Duran
Joseph Mackle
Juan Miro-Quesada
Kevin Alpizar
Kevin Freyre
Kevin Garcia
Kevin Schaeppi Souza
Lucas Fernandez
Lucas Jimenez
Lucas Morales
Lucas Padron
Lucas Richard
Lucas Ruiz
Luis Balcells
Luis Gonzalez
Luis Gonzalez-Pella
Luis Olivares
Manuel Estrada
Marc Menendez
Marco Arazoza
Marco Gomez-Rivera
Mateo Sierra
Matias Gandarias
Matias Nieto
Matias Perinot
Matthew Barturen
Matthew Calero
Matthew Diaz
Matthew Huembes
Matthew Marcos
Mattias Manzano
Maxton Torres
Michael Hernandez
Michael Martelly
Michael Montenegro
Michael Morin
Michael Nelson
Nelson De Leon
Nicholas Arana
Nicholas Diaz
Nicholas Fonseca
Nicolas Abril
Nicolas Souto
Oscar Minoso-Rendon
Pablo Perez
Paco Prieguez
Patrick Rodriguez
Pedro Fuentes
Pedro Zuloaga
Peter Lopez
Ricardo Mendez
Ricardo Yamin
Roberto Leon
Roger Saenz
Rolando Rodriguez
Rolando Sucena III
Ryan Ruz
Samuel Bayona
Samuel Flores
Sandro Seijo
Santiago Elizondo
Santiago Garmendia
Santiago Richard
Sean Wolfington
Sebastian Barcia
Sebastian Lopez-Irizarry
Sergio Abreu
Shawn Martinez
Stephen Hernandez
Thomas Fanjul
Tomas Duque
Tomas Torres
Zachary Acosta

Students selected for this prestigious honor can cite it on their college and scholarship applications. In turn, colleges use the listing of this honor as a way of identifying students from underrepresented groups—i.e., ethnic minorities and/or those who attend school in rural areas or small towns—who have excelled on their PSAT/NMSQT, PSAT 10, or AP Exams and in their classwork.

“In a year where testing and instruction proved challenging across the country, we are proud to have so many young men recognized for their abilities,” said Director of College Counseling Cristina Busto. “With the incorporation of AP scores this year, this recognition serves to highlight our students’ mastery of their subjects and the dedicated teaching of our faculty. We are especially excited to welcome members of the Class of 2023 to this program, as students are now eligible to earn this recognition through their outstanding performance in either sophomore or junior year.”

Students who may be eligible have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams; and are African American or Black, Hispanic American, or Latinx, Indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town.

Eligible students will be invited to apply during their sophomore or junior year and will be awarded at the beginning of the next school year. Students will receive their awards in time to include them on their college and scholarship applications.
500 SW 127th Avenue, Miami, FL 33184
phone: 305.223.8600 | fax: 305.227.2565 | email: webmaster@belenjesuit.org
Belen Jesuit Preparatory School was founded in 1854 in Havana, Cuba by Queen Isabel II of Spain.  The task of educating students was assigned to the priests and brothers of the Society of Jesus (the Jesuits), whose teaching tradition is synonymous with academic excellence and spiritual discipline.  In 1961, the new political regime of Cuba confiscated the School property and expelled the Jesuit faculty.  The School was re-established in Miami the same year, and over the next decade, continued to grow.  Today, Belen Jesuit sits on a 30-acre site in western Dade County, only minutes away from downtown Miami.